Alexander McQueen at the Met

After reading all the hype about the Alexander McQueen exhibit at the Met in NYC, I was finally able to go last week! I found the exhibit to be interesting yet…strange, and actually a bit creepy. I know that McQueen has always been known for his controversial and shocking designs, but after seeing a number of them placed side by side at the Met, I was more or so…what’s the word…frightened? I felt like the exhibit really highlighted McQueen’s inner disturbances, which perhaps was part of his popularity. I have realized that while I call myself a “fashionista” I don’t necessarily like the “show” that goes along with fashion. This may be why I love LOFT so much, because the clothing is simple yet chic and available for every-day wear. It is much more practical.

What I was impressed with, was the way McQueen created pieces out of different textures and materials. For example, a beautiful dress out of real feathers or real flowers.

Here are a few photos of some of the designs included in the exhibit…taken before the security guard yelled at me “No photos allowed!” 😉

Feather head-wear.

Red feather dress.

Sea shell dress.

Black jacket and dress.

Asian influenced dress.

4 responses to “Alexander McQueen at the Met

Leave a Reply

